In the state of Florida, if someone is involved in a traffic crash where the amount of damage is over $50, which is not very much, then in that spot, there is a requirement that the traffic information be exchanged. They have to give their name, address, contact information and insurance information. If they fail to do that and simply leave the scene, then they are charged with a criminal offense, which is leaving the scene of an accident while failing to give information. In that spot, that can actually result in a formal criminal charge and a formal criminal prosecution. Number one, they have a bearing on how an insurance company sets someone’s rates. So that can be a big issue because it can cost a lot of money if your insurance gets bumped up as you get points and infractions. Additionally, if someone collects a certain number of points in a certain time period, in Florida, it’s 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 18 months, or 24 points in 24 months, that can actually result in a separate suspension on someone’s driver’s license. So it can affect their insurance, it call also affect their driver’s license itself.
Dale Carson Law is dedicated to protecting the rights of individuals.
The Blackstone Building 233 East Bay Street, Suite 1101 Jacksonville, Florida 32202