Need Driver’s License Restoration? You May be Able to Get Your License Back or Get a Hardship License
License restoration is possible if a Florida DUI arrest or conviction has led to a suspended license. You may be able to get your license reinstated, if it is under administrative suspension, or obtain a hardship license so that you can at least drive to work. Just be sure you are not caught in Florida driving with a suspended license. Lawyers at criminal law firms in Florida know that courts tend to be harsh on people caught driving on a suspended driver’s license—even if the driver did not know it was suspended or the suspension occurred in another state. In most cases we can get your license back or help you get a hardship license so you can drive yourself to work while your DUI case goes to court. Often we can also help you beat your DUI charge or get the charged reduced so your license will not be suspended. To find out more about how we can help you defeat your DUI charges, we recommend reviewing these articles: Avoiding a DUI Felony and Need for License Restoration Avoiding a DUI Misdemeanor and Need for License Restoration
Criminal License Suspension: License Restoration Possible if Charges are Dismissed or Reduced
If you are convicted on a DUI charge, Florida law requires mandatory suspension or revocation of your driver’s license in addition to any administrative suspension you are currently under. Because the suspension is mandatory upon conviction, it is essential to get your DUI charge dismissed or reduced so that license suspension is not a mandatory part of the sentence. How criminal law firms can help you with this is discussed further in the DUI Felonies and DUI Misdemeanors articles. Your criminal license suspension begins on the date of your conviction and the length of the suspension will depend on the circumstances of your case:
- First conviction or second conviction at least 5 years apart: 180 days to 1 year license revocation
- Second conviction within 5 years: Minimum license revocation of 5 years—eligible for hardship license after 1 year
- Third conviction more than 10 years after second conviction: 1 year maximum suspension
- Third conviction less than 5 years after second, but more than 10 years after the first: license revoked for 5 years
- Third conviction within 10 years: licensed revoked 10 years or more—may be eligible for hardship license after 2 years.
- Fourth conviction or conviction involving injury or death: depending on facts of the case, you could face minimum revocation of 3 years or mandatory permanent revocation. Hardship license may or may not be an option.
Hardship License may be an Option if License Restoration Not Possible
If license restoration is not possible, you may be eligible for a hardship license that allows you to drive for business and work purposes only. A hardship license allows DUI offenders to continue to earn wages and support themselves and their families. Your eligibility depends on the type of conviction and the circumstance of your case. To qualify for a hardship license you will have to attend DUI School and apply for a hearing. Additional requirements may be placed on you if your BAC was 0.15% or higher, you have been convicted more than once, or if you are charged with a felony DUI.
Receive a Free Suspended License Restoration Consultation from Dale Carson Law
Don’t be caught in Florida driving with a suspended license. Lawyers from Dale Carson Law may be able to help you get your license back or help you obtain a hardship license. Few criminal law firms have attorneys with experience like former cop Dale Carson, who knows the mistakes arresting officers tend to make. Your initial consultation is free and you will get a straight-forward assessment of your case and the suspension you face. Simply fill out the form on our Complimentary Consults page and we will schedule your free license restoration consultation. Or call an attorney at Dale Carson Law today at 904-355-6777. Need more information? The articles below contain additional information about traffic charges in Florida. You can also find more in our Free Resourcessection. DUI and Driving Offenses DUI Felonies DUI Misdemeanors Traffic Violations Drivers License Suspension Hearings