Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations in Florida, and we all do it. Whether it’s one mile over the speed limit or 15, people are constantly speeding. Distractions on the road, changing of speed zones, emergencies, and electronics are all reasons why someone may creep over the limit. If you have a heavy foot you can expect a speeding ticket or two on highly patrolled roads, but that’s not all. Let’s take a look at the penalties for speeding in Florida.
Speeding Ticket Penalties
While getting a speeding ticket isn’t the worst thing that could happen if you are speeding, your penalty could be more than a fine. Read through the penalties below and keep an eye on those speed limit signs.
Speeding Ticket Fines
The most common speeding ticket penalty is a fine. In Duval county, if you’re caught going just six miles per hour over the speed limit, you can be fined $129.00. If you have questions about your fine, we can help you understand your rights and walk you through the process.
Points on Your License
Points are placed on your license and against your driving record on a graduated scale in Florida. They are assigned by penalty and can lead to a suspension anywhere from 30-days to one year. Take a look at some common traffic violations and the points assigned.
Increased Car Insurance
We can confidently say that in a non-emergency situation getting multiple speeding tickets is not worth the nightmare you’ll go through with insurance. You may be categorized as high-risk for years and that insurance premium can be more than double what you’re currently paying.
What’s worse than a traffic school? You have to pay to go to traffic school. That’s right, a speeding ticket can result in a 4-6 hour course and exam that you must pass. Covered topics include alcohol consumption, traffic rules, and defensive driving techniques. Consider doing this voluntarily, because it’ll help you avoid points on your license and sky-high insurance rates. Something to note is you can only take his course once every 12 months without getting points on your license.
So what happens if you get a speeding ticket for going 30 mph or more over the limit? There’s no slap on the hand fine or points on your license. This is a much more severe offense. You’ll have a mandatory court hearing and your consequence will be determined by a judge. If you find yourself in this situation, we highly recommend calling our speeding ticket attorney for representation.
Contact Our Office if You Get A Speeding Ticket
The moral of the story is to slow down! Getting a speeding ticket has many more consequences than a simple fine and you don’t want to be seen as high-risk with your insurance, with points on your license, or in court! It’s important that you understand your rights and know what to do when you get a speeding ticket. Contact us today with your questions about speeding tickets.